About Faculty



O. 58    The Union shall be called “The Maharaja Sayajirao University Union”.

The Maharaja Sayajirao University Union is a statutory cooperative body of students and teachers to promote academic, social interaction, sports and cultural interest among the students of the Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda, Vadodara, Gujarat, India. To ensure that Vision and Mission of the University is achieved, we have the Union Pavilion around 65000 sq mts as a central facility with state of art gymnasium and infrastructure for indoor and outdoor sports.


The aims and objects of the Union shall be: —

I.    To hold debates so as to enable students to learn the art of debating.
II.    To arrange public lectures so as to stimulate interest in cultural and public affairs.
III.    To promote social intercourse amongst the students of the Union by developing the Union as a club for the students.
IV.    To further the academic and social interest of students generally by maintaining a library, a reading-room, a writing-room, a games-room and a refreshment-room.
V.    To maintain a co-operative store and a co-operative bank.
VI.    To develop a sense of social service.


Old - O.66 The following shall be the officers of the union:-
1.    The Patron
2.    The President
3.    The Vice-President
4.    The Treasurer
5.    The General Secretary

New O.66 (as per the guideline of the Lyngdoh Committee)
The following shall be the officers of the Advisory Committee of the Union  
1.    The Patron
2.    The President
3.    The Treasurer

The following shall be the officers of the Executive Committee of the Union
1.    The Vice-President
2.    The General Secretary

The Union Executive Committee for the year 2021- 22 consists of the following

Advisory Committee Members :

PATRON : Prof. (Dr) VijayKumar Sirvastava
PRESIDENT : Prof. Sunita Nambiyar
TREASURER : Dr. Rahul Barodia

Executive Committee Members :


The Maharaja Sayajirao University Union works for the development of the student's overall personality development through planning, organizing, execution and documentation of several  extracurricular activities.

Present Committee at the Maharaja Sayajirao University Union:

During the period of Covid-19, when there was no way to hold student elections and have their representatives at the union. Dr. Reena Bhatia, the President of the Maharaja Sayajirao University Union, came up with an initiative of a volunteering program for the students to serve the fellow students of the university with the below given thought at foresight.

“The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.”    

                                                                       — Mahatma Gandhi

230 volunteers from various faculties of our university registered towards this initiative and finally around 100+ student volunteers worked towards the union's listed objectives. Under her direction, presently we have three strong volunteer teams working for the institution with one team leader and two communication leaders for each team, and multiple team members.

The Maharaja Sayajirao University Union has a Badminton Hall, Conference Room, Multipurpose Hall, Lounge and a Pavilion to host its myriad events apart from the offices for the advisory and executive members to host regular meetings.

In the year 2020-21 the student volunteers have hosted  26 events spanning 37 days with at least two events per month reaching out to 4024 students of the university in online and offline mode (as per the situations and permissions). The Union Logo (selected through student competition) too was launched with a first mega-offline event during the times of pandemic. Hon’ble Chancellor Rajmata Shubhangini Raje Gaekwad launched the UNION LOGO on the auspicious occasion of 113th birth anniversary of Maharaja Sir Pratap Singh Rao Gaekwad, all in presence of the Hon’ble Vice Chancellor, Prof. (Dr.) Parimal Vyas also the Patron of the MSU Union, respected Registrar Dr. K.M. Chudasama, President of the Maharaja Sayajirao University Union, Dr. Reena Bhatia and the revered Senate and Syndicate Members including the immediate past President and Vice President following all Covid-19 protocols. Also, inaugurated was ‘Sayaji Kevalin Club’ by the Hon’ble  Vice Chancellor, Prof. (Dr.) Parimal Vyas.