About Faculty

The Faculty of Performing Arts, formerly known as college of Indian Music, Dance and Dramatics was established as “Chookrao ni Gayan Shala-Singing School for children” in February 1886 by great visionary; H. H. Late Maharaja Sir Sayajirao Gaekwad – III, with learned musician Prof. Mawlabaksh as its founder principal.

It is a foremost constituent of the Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda, Vadodara – established in 1950. It is India’s premier institution imparting training at the University level.  It houses five vibrant departments viz, Vocal music, Instrumental music (Sitar/Violin), Tabla, Dance (Kathak/Bharat Natyam) and Dramatics offering UG-PG & Doctoral programme, as also Diploma courses in the subject. Certificate courses in Vocal Music have attracted common man of Vadodara. Over the years, it has nurtured a number of aspiring artists, academicians & researchers wanting to pursue performing arts as a profession, besides the huge number of connoisseurs.

The potential training is towards developing & fostering both creative & intuitive abilities in the student whereby attaining a systematic understanding of the art & science of performing arts and its aesthetic applications & to enable them to respond to changing times of the contemporary society.
The Faculty enjoys a status of unique centre of Performing Arts in the entire western region engaged in its mission of defining cultural dynamism of Indian classical arts in the rapidly evolving global economy.  

Key Features:

  • Preserving and practicing ancient tradition of Indian Performing Art.
  • Practicing Ancient Indian Tradition of “Gharanas & Guru-Shishya Parmpara” blended with Modern Pedagogy.
  • Faculties are also relates with Traditional Schools of Music (Gharana-Sampraday) with their required
  • Round the year academic seminars, symposiums, creative performances on various platforms.
  • Multi lingual approach for teaching and learning.
  • Inclusion of all age group of Society in form of offered courses form 12 Years and above.


Prominent Gurus & Alumnis: Prof. Mawla Bux, Sufi Inayat Khan, Ut. Faiyaz Khan, Ut. Ata Hussain Khan, Ut. Nissar Hussain Khan, Shri Hirjibhai Patrawala, Prof. C. C. Mehta, Prof. R. C. Mehta, Pt. Shivkumar Shukla, Prof. Narayanrao V. Patwardhan, Prof. C. V. Chandrashekhar, Pt. Madhusudan Joshi, Shri Shrinivas Khale,  Prof. S. K. Saxena, Prof. Markand Bhatt, Shri Ashit Desai, Smt. Mitali Mukherjee, Ut. Shameem Ahmed, Shri Ashok Jagtap, Smt. Shubhada Paradkar, Smt. Swapna Waghmare, Shri Kirtidan Gadhvi, Shri Nitiranjan Biswas.

Total number of Students: 1400 from within Indian and many countries viz. Sri Lanka, Bhutan, U.K., U.S.A., Bangladesh, Nepal, Mauritius and Japan.

Infrastructure and facilities: Open Air theatre, Play Box, Gayan-Vadan Sabha Khand, Concert Hall, Conference Rooms, Museum of musical instruments, Rich library of books, theses and journals, Audio-Visual archive with thousands of hours collection, Recording studio, Rich wardrobe, Canteen etc.