Shri Arup Kumar Raychaudhuri

About Me:

  • Name:

    Shri Arup Kumar Raychaudhuri

  • Category:

    Science and Technology

  • Award:

    The Indian Physics Association awarded the N. S. Sathyamurthy Award (1986), the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize by The Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (1994), FICCI Award in materials science and applied sciences (2003), the Homi Jehangir Bhabha Medal (2008) by The Indian National Science Academy.

  • Area:

    Specialization in the field of Studies on Cryogenics and Nano materials.


Education: Shri Arup Kumar Raychaudhuri completed his B.Sc from Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda in 1973 and M.Sc from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur in 1975 before proceeding to Cornell University from where he secured a PhD in 1980, working under the supervision of Robert O. Pohl. His post-doctoral studies were at Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research as an Alexander von Humboldt fellow and on his return to India in 1982, he joined the Indian Institute of Science as a lecturer.He continued at IISc till 1997 during which period, he served as an assistant professor and as an associate professor before becoming a professor in 1997. The same year, he moved to the National Physical Laboratory of India as its director on deputation for a three-year stint and returned to IISc in 2000 to resume his duties as a professor. At IISC, he also chaired the Central Cryogenic Facility from 1993 to 1997 and served as the convener of the Integrated PhD Programme from 1994 to 1997. In 2004, he returned to his home state to join S. N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences as a senior professor and served as its director from 2006 till his superannuation from service.Post retirement, he continues his association with S. N. Bose National Centre by holding the positions of a Distinguished Emeritus Professor and the Nodal Officer of its Technical Research Center project.

Biography: Shri Arup Kumar Raychaudhuri (born on 1st January 1952, in the Indian state of West Bengal) is an Indian condensed matter physicist, materials scientist and a Distinguished Emeritus Professor at the S. N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences. Known for his pioneering work on the interplay of disorder and interaction, Raychaudhuri is an elected fellow of all the three major Indian science academies viz. Indian Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Sciences, India and Indian National Science Academy as well as the Asia-Pacific Academy of Materials.